The controversial golf rule’… ‘Hubbard’s disqualification for exceeding clubs’

This is a case of intentionally adding a club and resulting in disqualification.

This is the story of Mark Hubbard (USA, photo). It occurred in the second round of the PGA Tour Cadence Bank Houston Open (total prize money of $8.4 million) held at the Memorial Park Golf Club (par 70, 7412 yards) in Houston, Texas, USA last November. The veteran who turned pro in 2012 made a fatal mistake

After Hubbard was sluggish with a 5-over-par 75 in the first round, he put a reserve driver with specifications that can produce other pitches in the bag. The number of clubs has increased to 15. Rule 4.1b of Golf allows up to 14 golf clubs. The player receives a two-stroke penalty for the breaching hole, up to a maximum of four penalty strokes for that round. The problem is when you intentionally add it. Disqualification, not penalty, under Rule 4.1c.

Hubbard took out a spare driver from the second half.  안전놀이터 “I deliberately added a 15th club,” he admitted, “and used the club several times without announcing a suspension of play.” In order for Hubbard to put two drivers in, he had to take one club he wasn’t using very well out of the bag. Hubbard recorded a 4-over-par 74 in the second round. Even if he was not disqualified, he would not be able to advance to the third round. Tony Finau (USA) won the tournament.

Hubbard is a player who joined the PGA Tour in 2015 after going through the Korn Ferry (Part 2) Tour in 2014. He has yet to win a championship, and his world ranking is 168th. In the 2022/2023 season, he appeared in 9 events and tied for 5th in the Sanderson Farms Championship. He is ranked 72nd in the FedEx Cup rankings. His personal best is a tie for second at the 2019 Houston Open.



Related Posts


 Chairman Chung Mong-kyu lowered his head.. In the end, it ended with a ‘sketch’


‘Trick pardon’ that ended with an own goal… Chairman Chung Mong-kyu lowered his head


‘I threw 158km’ 500 million sales super rookie eliminated from opening entry…why?


For the first time since 1901… Ohtani’s bad luck from the opening, Trout also frustrated “I’m annoyed”

No Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *